As I type this, Ian and Katie are somewhere in Africa, on probably the most adventurous honeymoon any of my couples have ever experienced. That’s just them. Their love of adventure is what drew them together, and they spent their early days getting to know each other in Morocco, traveling across Canada, and when they were surprised and blessed with their beautiful son Ayden, they didn’t hesitate to spend some of his first few months of life in the Dominican Republic. I wondered if they would ever be still. They have, however, firmly planted their roots here in Vancouver, but that doesn’t mean they won’t be adventuring together for their entire lifetime.
This wedding was special. Ian became a family friend of ours when he was paired up with my younger brother in the Big Brothers program. The first time he came to meet my brother, and family, my mom called me afterwards. She was simply amazed by this man. Ian was well educated, well employed, extremely good looking, fashionable (straight!)…and he donated his time to be a mentor in a young boy’s life. My sisters and I? We swooned. Men like this existed??
Ah, but it wasn’t long before we heard, Ian had a love. He had found someone he couldn’t take his eyes off of. We met her, and we could see what he sees in her right away. We could only be happy for her, for him, and for their love, because they were truly an amazing couple. Katie turned out to not just be the girl who stole Ian’s heart. She turned out to be our friend, a true friend of my entire family. When she became pregnant, we watched as her belly grew…and grew…and grew. This tiny girl (she is so petite!) managed to grow a 9lb baby boy. And of course, we fell in love with HIM too.
Finally, Ian proposed to Katie. I remember my mom telling me that Katie had told her she had “something to show her”, and could they get together for lunch sometime soon? We knew. It was all so exciting! My younger sister Kezia immediately began helping Katie with the details of the wedding. Katie signed me on to photograph. The texts started flowing in about venues, food, etc. etc.
Okay this is getting long, and I’m kind of getting a little teary.
The day of the wedding was simply awesome. I just love Swan E Set as a venue! It was hot, sunny, and relaxed. The party afterwards was so fun, Katie has some wicked dance moves, and DJ BFad kept everyone moving!
I have to thank my sister Kezia, who effortlessly picked up all the loose ends at the last minute, and put together a little decor, she helped me with family shots, she made sure Katie had something to drink and eat, and she did ALL THE FLORALS. She’s the Jill of All Trades. This woman has a knack for planning and decor, with a little experience in both areas, and a little education in design, it comes naturally to her. Oh, AND she caught the bouquet. Oh, and if you like their Fingerprint Guest Book Tree, check out Sweet & Chic Boutique! She can custom make one for you!
Katie and Ian’s son Ayden did an awesome job as ring bearer, alongside his cousin Avery as flower girl. They are some adorable kids!
Well I will just stop myself now and give you the photos. I’ll admit there are more than usual. Ian and Katie have an incredible chemistry that makes my job SO EASY.

















view larissa’s portfolio | contact larissa | facebook