To say I was excited for this wedding is an understatement. Melissa and Brandon had an absolutely wicked engagement session with me (see it here) and I couldn’t wait to work with them again. On top of that, I got to work with the amazing Candeo Weddings once again, and I’m looking forward to working with them again next year. Ashley and Dawn are serious fun to hang out with and get the job done so well.

On July 2, 2011 it was beautiful day. Sunny, and warm. Okay, I admit I prefer a bit of overcast, but there were some clouds in the sky to diffuse some of the light on and off. My amazing second shooter Alyssa and I arrived at the Four Seasons Hotel just in time to see Melissa slip into her dress, and run down to get into the limo. we headed to St. Andrews Wesley United Church for the ceremony. It was truly amazing. The church prefers photographers to be very discreet, so I was unable to get very close during the ceremony, but I got some awesome shots from far back. I was allowed to be up close during the procession and recession down the aisle though, which made for good shots of Brandon’s face as Melissa came down the aisle, which was priceless. He was beaming. I would be too if I were a guy and this was my bride. Melissa looked stunning. She is so gorgeous.

After the ceremony we had fun carting around town going to Stanley Park for some shots and then to Granville Island for some more with the wedding party. These two had an awesome wedding party, they were fun and so very attentive during portrait time! Danica gets a gold star for most helpful Maid of Honor I have ever worked with. We then headed back to the Four Seasons Vancouver for the reception time. What an absolutely incredible venue, and it was all decked out in the most perfect way by Lisa Gregory of Lisa Gregory Special Events. I was thrilled to be a part of this wedding. The reception was awesome, with so many laughs during speech time, and the best food I’ve had in a long time.

Melissa and Brandon are SO cute together. What a couple. He is an NHL player and she is a country music singer. (Actually Melissa released her debut album just 5 days before her wedding day, check it out on itunes, Melissa Rae Barrie’s Breakaway. I have bought the album and my 5 year old daughter and I listen to it in the car and we both love it). For such a star-quality couple, they are sweet, down to earth, and charming. Brandon is sweet and accommodating, and enthralled by his bride Melissa who is funny, kind, and does a killer British accent (which provided for a lot of laughs during her speech).

So before I get too long-winded, here are the photos that I chose as the best of their day.


Here’s a list of the amazing people and companies that made this day happen:

Planning: Ashley at Candeo Weddings

Venue: Four Seasons Vancouver – coordinated by Nikki Hills

Florals and Decor: Lisa Gregory Special Events

String Quartet at Ceremony: Musical Occasions – jantrerise@shaw.ca

DJ: Hot Hit DJ

Makeup: Melissa did her own, Bridesmaids by Ashleen MacPherson

Bridesmaids Dresses: Dessy Collection from Lisa’s Bridal

Bridal Gown: Casablanca from Mockingbird Bridal in Texas

Rings: Damiani from DaMincci Jewellers

larissa’s portfolio | contact larissa| facebook