I met up with my friend Michelle of Michelle Lana Photography in Fort Langley. We wanted to go test out some ideas and recent epiphanies we’d had on lighting, both natural and artificial (in the form of off-camera flash). Michelle invited out her friend Cassidy, who is both beautiful and fun.

We marched around searching out light, forcing Cass into compromising positions which she entrusted us in so faithfully. Thanks Cassidy!

Oh I think this one is my favorite. Michelle totally saw this spot and angle before me though, so I give her credit!

Here are a couple with some flash. It’s a work in progress and I’m still learning.

I need to have more spontaneous shoots like this, it was really fun. I learned so much and I think that’s so important as a photographer. When you can be in charge of a shoot and take it as a learning experience then it can really improve your work for clients, when it truly matters.